Srac Logo

This page was last updated:

Ocotber, 2016

Be sure to click on the What's New tab above to see the newest information, and publications.


SRAC: Our Region

The thirteen states and two territories included in the Southern Region are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, and Virginia.

Many species of fish and shellfish are produced in the Southern Region, including catfish, crawfish, baitfish, hybrid striped bass, trout, and tilapia, just to name a few.

Aquaculture Species:

The Chart below is the 2005 Production and Sales figures of the top 5 U.S. Aquaculture Species. The chart was provided by The Catfish Institute.

Fish Sale and Prodution Chart

Species Details:

Click on each of the species below to learn more about them.




Hybrid Striped Bass

Bait and Feeder Fish